Legal Shots

Paul Loney

Paul Loney (Photo by T. Oliver. Copyright by Paul Loney)

October 19, 2009

By Claire Sykes

When Paul Loney isn’t defending someone in court, the Portland activist attorney often has his eye behind a camera. From rooms in his house and floral close-ups to common neighborhood scenes and Upstate Michigan vistas, a variety of worlds fills his viewfinder.

“There isn’t any one place I take photographs of more than others; it just happens that I am around home and the neighborhood more than other places. I also really like having a camera around water, especially the Columbia River.”

"Columbia River" 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

"Columbia River" 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

Untitled (Copyright by Paul Loney)

"Untitled" 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

“I love manipulating some of the images I take into something different, especially the ones that don’t come out the way I thought they would when I took them. Sometimes there is no way a person can tell just what the original image was, which is somehow liberating.”

"Green and Black" 2009 (Copyright Paul Loney)

"Green and Black" 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

“I photograph whenever the urge strikes, as I usually have my camera with me at all times. I know the one time I don’t have it is when there will be a scene that I really want to capture.” I’m glad Paul had his camera nearby when he found the moth. “I came out of the house and into the garage this summer and there it was on my car. This shot was pure bliss. But because of the lighting, it took me three or four tries before it worked. I first look for good light. If I also have good subject material, it is a bonus.”

"Moth" 2009 (Copyright by Paul Loney)

"Moth" 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

Dogwood Tree with Extra (Copyright by Paul Loney)

"Dogwood Tree with Extra" 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

In Middle English, Daffodil was Called/Spelled Affodil (Copyright by Paul Loney)

"In Middle English, Daffodil was Called/Spelled Affodil" 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

Outside, xxx, Michigan (Copyright by Paul Loney)

"Outside" Central Oregon, 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

More Trees in Winter (Copyright by Paul Loney)

"More Trees in Winter" 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

“Thinking of taking pictures pushes me into looking at my surroundings much more closely, and differently. Taking pictures is a meditation for me, forcing me to let go of what I first saw or what I thought I saw. When I do that, more often what appears is like a little discovery, a Zen moment.”

"Looking Out" 2009 (Copyright Paul Loney)

"Looking Out" from Shadows series, 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

"Two" from Shadows series, 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

""Two" from Shadows series, 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

"Shadow Zoe" 2009 (Copyright by Paul Loney)

"Shadow Zoe" from Shadows series, 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

"Reflections" 2009 (Copyright by Paul Loney)

"Reflections" from Shadows series, 2009 (Photo and Copyright by Paul Loney)

My words © by Claire Sykes. All rights reserved.

Paul’s words © Paul Loney. All rights reserved.

Published in: on October 15, 2009 at 11:45 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://sykeswrites.wordpress.com/2009/10/15/legal-shots/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I loved the pictures, Paul! Thanks!

  2. You are welcome! I am happy to share, and I thank Claire for having a place to share my photos.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

